Cardiff

Leave a comment

Been busy recently having been half term so we went off to Cardiff for a weekend to see Tom. Managed to get a cheap deal in a hotel so were able to enjoy ourselves in the Bay area and fit in a trip to Penarth where we nearly froze to death on the pier ! Had a bizarre experience in a cafe where the owner tried telling us that the reason the table was not clean was due to the fact that a) the waitress was a foreign exchange student and did not speak English and b) they had done face painting on the Saturday…..it was about 2 pm on Monday at this point!  Anyway, this didn’t detract from seeing Tom or enjoying the company of him, Lauren and the other Tom on Sunday night.

Penarth pier was undergoing some remedial works and inspite of the ‘bracing’ February wind it was easy to see what a grand piece of Victorian architecture it is.

045

042

037 (2)

This final picture seems like a really good starting point for a crochet lace border and may well be developed into the edge for the shawl I am working on!

 

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

Leave a Reply

