Three Things

2 Comments


Just the three projects on the go at the moment but  my mind is buzzing with ideas. Let me tell you about what I am doing.

Granny Blanket

075

I can’t seem to go for long without picking up a crochet hook. Granny squares are simply the best way to use up oddments and really  the ultimate in recycling yarns and using up  scraps from other projects. There is something very satisfying about this. So I kept seeing oddments of blues and greens in my basket of bits and felt they needed a purpose. Needless to say I have been scouring the charity shops for more bits and have ended up buying some *new* wool as well!

Now, I know  for those of you who are wool ‘purists’ may be horrified but this sort of project is best completed with a high percentage of acrylic (in my view) so that the finished throw is easy to wash, dry and use. Also, I have a penchant for the brightness of the colours in these sort of yarns. It is fun mixing and matching and making something out of not very much!

Now I have messed about with big squares and small squares and on this occasion decided that 22 rounds would make a bold statement. Here are some images of WIP. See what you think.

076

070

089088080

Purple Poncho

 The yarn and pattern for this caught my eye when I was perusing the Black Sheep Wool website one day well before Christmas. Those of you who know me will understand why both the colour of the wool and the design of the poncho appeal to me! Purple, chunky, cosy, cabled. Both yarn and pattern are by Rowan. The yarn is alapaca cotton and was very advantageously priced in the BSW sale section, here is a link to the Rowan pattern which is available for free!

I have about 30 rows left to knit up the front before joining it to the back and doing the lovely ribbed roll neck. It will be perfect for those gorgeous sunny spring days we will be having soon! This is what it looks like so far…

083

081

087

086

Silk Shawl

My third project is the least developed of the three but perhaps the most exciting and a new departure for me in that it is using a very fine silk yarn by Babylonglegs aka Sarah from Knit Night. Sarah brought along this adorable skein of ‘slated’ coloured silk that had a bit of a tangle in it so was a bugger to wind but well worth the effort! After Lahora (Laura aka Artygal) and I wrangled briefly and good naturedly about who would claim ownership my green stuff was put on the table and the yarn was mine.

I played about with an idea but knew that it was asking to be crocheted into a lace shawl. So, having searched on Ravelry for inspiration I found a free pattern for Eva’s shawl so I am following this for the main body of the shawl working with a 3mm hook and plan to create a beautiful border myself taking inspiration from the railings from Penarth pier.

SAM_1455

SAM_1454

SAM_1453

045

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

2 thoughts on “Three Things

  1. Those are three fairly substantial projects! The blues and greens of the granny squares look good together.

  2. Thanks Veronica, I am never one to do things slowly and always have more ideas than hands or time! I am delighted to tell you that you are the first person to leave a comment on my blog which is a new departure for me. Having three projects on the go is great as I have time. Look out for my ‘Lupus Story’ ; I will post it soon, that explains it all!

Leave a Reply

