Well it made me smile!

4 Comments


This is going to be one of those posts which meanders from one idea to another , the only connection being that each thing brought a smile to my face.

Tom is home for Easter! Love to have my boys home!
Small haul of yarn procured in Ashby this morning; who knows what I will make with this but one simply could not resist!

096

My lovely husband has taken up his needles after so many years of not knitting! When we met he used to make his own shirts and knit fair isle jumpers! Here he is having remembered how to cast on ten stitches (and just about keep a straight face)

098

Next in line to raise a smile is my friend Helen who I have been teaching to crochet. She is a very skilled lace maker ( I will show you some of her work one day) and after 3 lessons and some very colourful vocabulary has made her very own flower brooch.073

How bizarre! That’s what I have been calling my latest creations. A motley collection of stuffed toys and kitsch. Here are one or two pictures of some of the latest additions. The question is, why do a 20 , 21 and 22 year old all think that the knitted Peppa pig is ‘the best thing (you’ve) ever made’!094

Peppa!

088

Knitted rabbit based on this Deramores pattern with his very large dayglo carrot! 

084

Fluffy tail courtesy of my special wool brush- so cute

Next on my list of smile inducing things was going for a walk on Sunday, wrapped up warm against the bitter wind and having freshly home made soup at the farm with the afforementioned knitting man. The same man who the week before took me out for lunch to mark the occasion of my finally leaving paid employment and who has been the most wonderfully supportive partner anyone could wish for. Warm glow and lots of love here!

I could go on but that seems like a good place to end for today. Like I said- well it made me smile…

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

4 thoughts on “Well it made me smile!

  1. Just found your blog. Peppa is adorable!

    • Thanks for dropping by! My sons aged 20 and 22 tell me she’s the best thing I’ve ever made! I am not sure I agree but she is cute. I am looking to make her brother George who has a dinosaur toy! Watch this space! Just popped over to your blog- love your cross stitch; I do not have the patience or the eyesight for it myself!

Leave a Reply

