SUPERNICE STOCKHOLM

Leave a comment

199

So I have stolen Joe’s  blog title but it sums it up pretty well, Stockholm is indeed super nice and for our 4 day break was also super sunny! The Swedes seem to have a few things sorted. For one, the public transport system in Stockholm is fantastic whether bus, tram or T-banna (metro). All are clean and efficient. There is even a water bus service; essential for a city built on an archipelago.

292

The language is endearing to my English ear! Is it wrong to be amused by the signs at the bottom of the escalators reading ‘upp’ and ‘ej upp’- (ay up!) translating as up and no/not up?!

Secondly, the Swedes seem to be a highly practical race where common sense reigns and fuss is banished. People come first.

200

The walk along Norr Malarstrand into the city is scenic as the waters are beginning to melt from their winter state as ice. It is possible to see the layers of frozen water and in places it has developed into a mosaic pattern. With the sharp sunlight streaming down the effect is quite stunning.

093

070

 

The pictures will show you Stockholm better than any words I can write.

Fika

090

This is a Swedish tradition of coffee and cake somewhat akin to afternoon tea except it would seem any time is fika time! Here I am having my first taste of fika at Norr Malarstarnd, click on the picture to get detailed information about this excellent past time!

In Search of Swedish Yarn

At knit night I had departed with the promise of seeking out Swedish wool from a Swedish yarn shop! Did I succeed?

285

287

YES!

Click on the photo to get a link to the shop’s website. The shop was in Kungsholmen, not too far from Joe’s apartment. I explained to the owner my mission and came away with a rather lovely (and rather expensive) skein of Swedish wool from the island of Faro near Gotland which sits in the Baltic to the east of mainland Sweden. I am coveting this gorgeous yarn with no idea about what to make with it as yet but I am sure my friends at knit night will have plenty of ideas! This is the yarn but my skein is a lovely raspberry colour. Again the picture will link you to the site for full info.

1281295351ezr6hzsfrecwz33rd60qt4itxg2n0rd

At the Nordic Museum I also bought some other yarn, appealing because there were ten mini balls looking very neat in a cute little package. Once again the picture will link you to the website for this company.

default-header

So did I like Stockholm and would I go back? I think the answer is obvious! YES!

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

Leave a Reply

