Crafty Chat, this and that

5 Comments

I hope you have all had a good week. Since getting back from Stockholm I have been mega busy and have had somewhat of a battle recovering. I am not always good at moderating my output and having tried to carry on regardless doing washing, cleaning and shopping (mundane stuff I know) , I ended up in bed on Wednesday extra tired and having difficulty putting one foot in front of the other… my mate Lupus.

So on Thursday I dragged myself to knit night to share the bounty of my yarn finding mission and surprised everybody (especially Laura and Fiona who were elbowing each other) by staying until after 10 o’clock! Shock horror! This is unheard of, not only was I up at this time but also OUT! Needless to say on Friday I suffered! Ran out of spoons so to speak and had to gird my loins for a busy weekend with visitors and visiting!

Enjoyed going out to play with Laura and trawling through her extensive display of vintage crochet, knitting and sewing patterns. Shared my charity shop finds of the week and planned my next ‘makes’.

diary knits

Book no.1 is full of classic patterns but very 1980’s styling.

cutest_ever_baby_knits

Book no.2, as it says, adorable projects! And very cute babies!I have already made two teddy hats from this and have added to my list of next projects including the delightful strawberry slippers on the cover. This will mean buying some suitable yarn as my stash does not currently include four ply in red and green.

The Trusty Gardener Cosy

I am so excited to have finished this cosy and am very pleased with the outcome. It is for a friend’s birthday present, and if she reads this she will know exactly who she is! The Trusty Gardener herself.

At this point I will refer you to a few pictures of ones I have seen on the web…I have not intentionally copied anyone, it seems like there are many of us crafty types with the same idea and after all, the fancy pants tea cosy has been around for generations.

Any way, now for my creation. A little gallery which includes a version of the vintage pineapple cosy which I think is wonderful and kitsch but I do think needs to be made bigger than the pattern indicates. I have added a crochet edging to it.

In other news, so to speak, Chris has now done about 6 rows of knitting! But put down one set of sticks for another when he constructed the bean poles in the veggie plot yesterday. I have to say he does one rather better than the other!

098

One last comment; I have finally booked my first ever craft stall when ONOODLES is to be launched into the real world public domain. First box of fancies ready for market!

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

5 thoughts on “Crafty Chat, this and that

  1. I love your teacosies but, and this is a big but, does anyone use a teapot anymore? They may do for special occasions, but for everyday? I think not. On the other hand, these lovely cosies might inspire folk to use them.
    Thank you for the comment you left on my blog Creative Granny. Will you become a follower (I am following you) then you can see just what I am getting up to!

    • Thanks for the comment Helen. I thought I was was already following you ! I will go and check! I often pop over to your blog and really love what you are doing- your notebook, gardening and crafting.

      As for the tea cosy question? Back here in the UK and especially in some social circles, tea pots are definitely still in use. I have made several tea cosies by request and have three ready for my stall. I will report back as to whether anyone else wants to buy them!

    • Can I add my two cents’ worth here – we sell HUNDREDS of tea cosies!!! so someone must be using them… Ours are not quite as magnificent as yours are, we have to go for a less decorative look otherwise we’d never be able to price them to sell, but the ones with pom poms are very popular. Tea cosy away, my dear 🙂

  2. PS. I have checked and I really truly am already one of your followers! Don’t worry I will spread the word x

  3. Oh I do like a balanced argument! I have some more ‘simple’ and quick to make designs up my sleeves…you can’t go wrong with a strategically placed pompom! Watch this space,to sell or not to sell?! Let’s see what happens!

Leave a Reply

