Sanctuary

6 Comments

I’ve been meaning to invite you all into my garden. It is another one of my passions and I am proud to say that we designed and made this almost from scratch. I say almost because 9 years ago when we  moved into our home the back garden boasted three plants and a paved area which had been the base of an aviary (now supports our shed!) and the front had a blossom tree- definitely the best thing about it!

The back garden is now well established and definitely has  a  cottage garden feel to it. I prefer free flowing and abundant plants. The front garden now sports our vegetable plot. It all looks pretty and verdant during May and June here in the UK. The garden brings me solace, sanctuary and quite a lot of inspiration. Come and take a look.

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

6 thoughts on “Sanctuary

  1. Wow, what a beautiful and quirky garden. I love the poached eggs (never seen those before!) but best of all…..the rabbit ❤

  2. Lovely garden photos. I too find solace in my garden. Most of our neighbours’s gardens are just grass lawns front and back. Can’t understand it myself!
    I love a little journey around the veg plot with a cup of tea when everyone else is still asleep.

  3. Lovely, especially the trailing archway. I miss my garden, can’t wait to get out there.

  4. I love to sit on the swing with a book in the late afternoon, makes me feel like Alice in Wonderland x

Leave a Reply

