Fifi the Poodle!

6 Comments

When I was a little girl growing up in the 1960s, we had a pet miniature poodle called Fifi! Very fashionable!  I know there’s a photograph somewhere in the family archives as dad was a keen amateur photographer and there are many old black and white shots from the 60s followed by colour prints from the 70s onwards!

Imagine my joy and the memories that came flooding back when I spotted this pattern after I had done a trawl on ebay… and yes, I bid and I won!

SAM_2588

I took this to Knit Night for show and tell and we got to reminiscing (those of us who  are old enough!) about the particularly kitsch items from our childhoods like crocheted crinoline ladies to cover the spare  toilet rolls! Soooo tasteful. At this point I must tell you that it was never my intention to actually MAKE  one but you know how these things turn out!

So, at a later date I was having a similar conversation with another friend who said how much he would love a poodle toilet roll cover for his downstairs loo! Not only that, he was willing to pay!  The pattern above is actually a bottle cover (you know how important it is to cover your fave beer with one of these!)

SAM_2590

SAM_2593

And after discussions about colour, this is what I made!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Enjoy!

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

6 thoughts on “Fifi the Poodle!

  1. WOW. Just WOW. Or should it be, BOW WOW 🙂

  2. He is gorgeous. Can you imagine the smiles he will receive when anyone visits the little boy’s room? Love your new blog look btw. I was quite startled when I saw a picture of me on the side of it!! Mum says I must change my photo. She hates it.

  3. How did you get the blogs you follow on the side bar. Where you able to choose which blogs you wanted to feature?

  4. Hi Lucie! First of all you will laugh when I tell you that the poodle is going to my friend who is 54 years old!!!! He wants it to annoy his partner who is altogether more conventional than him! Secondly, the option for the thumbnails is on the widget for ‘blogs I follow’ in the dashboard- it asks you whether you want a list or thumbnail and you can select up to 50 I think? I keep messing with the look of my blog to keep people on their toes!

  5. Pingback: July Made It – What do Grannies, Fierce and Not-So-Fierce Creatures, Windows, Hearts, Ushuaia, Rice and A Pincushion have in common? | woolhogs

Leave a Reply

