Lupus Awareness Month: Day Three

6 Comments

A IS FOR AMITRIPTYLINE

Amitriptyline Hcl 005_0.preview

So last night I was pondering about what to tell you next and spent some time writing a plan for the rest of the month. When I woke up this morning all fuzzy headed from the meds but after a GOOD NIGHT’S SLEEP I thought hang on! I have a better idea. An A to Z of  Lupus would probably cover most bases (highly original I know!) and since the cause of my sleep and fuzzy head were down to something beginning with A…   here we go

AMITRIPTYLINE  is an old school anti-depressant drug that is rarely used for that any more but has been found to be effective for pain relief and a sleep aid in diseases such as Lupus. My understanding is that the dosage is much lower. When I googled it I found that it is used for bed wetting, migraine, peripheral neuropathy and cervical spondylosis! I have only found reference to use for Lupus if my search includes Lupus AND amitriptyline (which is not easy to write!) As for many drugs used to treat Lupus, this is also not Lupus specific ( I will cover the others as they come along)  and opens up the conundrum of why it is so difficult to diagnose Lupus, to get the correct balance of drugs for the individual and perhaps why it remains incurable since there is so much as yet unexplained! Research is ongoing to develop a drug with  a specific use and I will talk more on this tomorrow.

What I do know is that-

  • it reduces night time pain
  • it helps me sleep
  • I wake up with a fuzzy head and dry mouth (I am happy to trade these side effects for a good night’s sleep)
  • it works for me!

Lots of links to read more on this but here is one to get you started (should you feel moved!) and explains pretty well why it is effective in pain relief.

See you tomorrow!

Jill x

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

6 thoughts on “Lupus Awareness Month: Day Three

  1. This is a great series you are doing. I had no idea what lupus was. And lo and behold Dr Brian Cox was on the TV last night talking about advances is how they develop medicines. The guy he was talking to was saying he was developing specific drugs for lupus as drugs in this field hadn’t progressed in thirty years. So you see, I’m learning.

    • I saw good old Prof. Cox and thought I would reference that at some point. I am glad you are finding it interesting! It amazes me that so few know so little about Lupus (I was one of those people until I was diagnosed- knew a little but not enough) Thanks for taking the time to read it.

  2. I take Amitriptyline for migraines and sleep, and boy does it work.

  3. Do you wake up fuzzy like me? I think the trick is taking it before you go to bed and not when you go to bed! Trouble is I forget!

  4. MOLLIE
    What dose do you take.

Leave a Reply

