Here before you know it…

3 Comments

Judging by comments on other social media it would seem that many people have already started or even finished their Christmas shopping. HMMMM…

I love the festive season but really, it is only just autumn! However, now that I am ‘in business’ so to speak, I need to keep ahead of the game and suggest to you that a homemade Christmas is the way forward, I have never been one for over indulgence (don’t worry my soapbox is NOT coming out) but I do think Christmas is a time for family (in the widest sense) and time spent is worth so much more than money.

With this in mind I advocate the homemade approach whether that is through the gifts you give or the food you provide. Hospitality only costs time.

So, at a risk of sounding hypocritical, I would like to share with you some of my Christmas creations. Some of these will be used and gifted but a few will hopefully be bought. If you want to know how to make anything I have included the link for the the snowflakes  and describe briefly how to make the baubles and trees…

Here is the snowflake link- a free pattern (always a bonus) that requires some skill in crochet

And here is my long winded description for the round baubles and trees…

BAUBLE 

I have used DK yarn and a 3.5 mm hook but really you could play with yarns and hook sizing

UK terms throughout

  • make 2 ch
  • work 11 tr into the 1st ch made, join into ring at top of 2nd ch (12 tr made)
  • 2ch, work 1tr into base of this st
  • work 2tr into each tr, join with sl.st into ring
  • 2ch, work 1 tr into base of this st,( 1 tr into next tr, 2tr into next tr) rpt to end of round, sl.st to join
  • 2 ch, work 1tr into base of this st, (1tr into each of next 2 tr, 2tr into next st.) rpt to end
  • fasten off and break yarn

make two discs like this,  join, leaving a gap to lightly fill

You can decorate with beads, braids, buttons or ribbons as per picture either before or after stuffing!

To include a triangle ‘tree’ use contrast yarn and make 10ch

  • work dc into  2nd ch and  evry chain to end of row, 1ch and turn
  • miss st, 1dc into each st, 1ch and turn
  • repeat this until 1 st remains (by missing 1st st you have been decreasing 1 on each row)
  • pull yarn through and fasten off
  • you have made a triangle tree!decorative-page-break-hi

TREE

Make two triangles as above but starting with 16 ch.

For tree trunk make 5ch and work in dc until you have enough rows so that when you fold it in half it is the length you require- about 14 rows. Fold over, over sew round edge and attach to the triangle top. Decorate as you wish.

decorative-page-break-hi

Have fun! I would love to see your creations!

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

3 thoughts on “Here before you know it…

  1. Oh I’d love to make some of those baubles!

  2. thank you for this easy pattern . I have enjoyed making some for my tree x

Leave a Reply

