Days 17 and 18: OSTEOPOROSIS & PROGRESS

2 Comments

OSTEOPOROSIS

Osteoporosis is a condition that affects the bones, causing them to become weak and fragile and more likely to fracture. These fractures most commonly occur in the spine, wrist and hips but can affect other bones such as the arm or pelvis.

Bone density begins to decrease after the age of about 35 and for most this is never a problem but there are some factors that contribute to a risk of developing osteoporosis  such as diseases affecting hormone producing glands such as hyperthyroidism, family history of osteoporosis, problems with absorbtion, heavy drinking and smoking and long term use of certain medication…e.g. oral steroids such as prednisolone .

If you have been keeping up with me you will be aware that steroids are a mainstay drug for many lupus patients in getting the disease under control. So osteoporosis is a possible side effect of the drug therapy and particularly relevant for people (women especially) of a certain age like me! To counteract this it is advisable to take supplements of calcium and vitamin D. Oh yes, another ‘did you know?’ point, most people with lupus are deficient in Vitamin D, ironic that what is referred to as the ‘sunshine’ vitamin can be difficult for a Lupie to replace naturally since a main source of this is from sunlight….are you keeping up with me…a high percentage of people with SLE are light sensitive!

More on this here

sun-clipart.1-xwlxmo

PROGRESS

It is advisable to keep a log or diary of your symptoms with lupus; personally I try to do this when there is a change or if I note a pattern. Generally when a review with my GP comes around or I am due a consultant appointment it really helps to focus the mind and usually means that I come away having said all I need to say and not coming away kicking myself! If you are like me it adds to the general feeling of hypochondria but actually is a very useful tool for the medics and in reminding yourself that you really are ill and not imagining it. which sadly, is how some people with lupus are made to feel, especially in the time before diagnosis.

So here is another link to LUPUS UK who have a downloadable Lupus Diary for you to chart progress or you can send off for a paper copy. I tend to use A4 paper which then slots nicely into my Lupus folder where I keep all letters and appointments. I know this all sounds a little obsessional, maybe it is but I see it as a part of my learning process. I even put in the lovely mug shots when symptoms are visible. It really does help a consultant understand what is going on with you and can therefore tweek your meds accordingly.

To finish today I will leave you with the LUPUS UK campaign poster

LAMPoster693px

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

2 thoughts on “Days 17 and 18: OSTEOPOROSIS & PROGRESS

  1. Jeepers, what can I say – this sounds like a catch 44 situation, never mind a 22.
    My colleague’s sister had lupus diagnosed at a very early age (14), it was a dreadful thing. I read these posts with a heavy heart, I must say. It’s too much for one person.

    • Hey Jill it’s okay. They are getting better at identifying it now, though I don’t know how that works in SA. I feel very sorry when I hear about young people who have the diagnosis. I count myself lucky (!!!) that I got it at the tender age of 48 but even then it has been a battle to acceptance. At the conference I went to on Saturday it was very heartwarming to hear first hand from two young people with very positive outlooks who show that you can get a grip on it. Really do appreciate the time you take to read these posts. At the end of October I will be back to being crafty!

Leave a Reply

