Hats From The Hall

9 Comments

How lucky am I? Yesterday I spent a fabulous day on a course to make a hat at the brilliant Hats From The Hall which is about a five minute walk from home. I was bought this experience as a gift and was so looking forward to the chance to try felting again but on this occasion to make something useful.

The day includes Danish pastries on arrival, buffet lunch and scones with  jam and cream for afternoon tea with free access to hot and cold drinks. With catering taken care of let me tell you about the venue. Mountsorrel Hall, a magnificent Georgian building, is now a domestic residence ie the beautiful home of Louise and family who also hold the millinery courses there.

From the minute you walk in the door you are given a warm welcome by both Louse and Vicky who guide you through each step of the process. On my day the choice was a cloche hat with felt flower detail or a fascinator. The felt flowers can be wet felted from scratch or cut outs to your own design from the hat felt, both of which can be embellished using fabulous beads, buttons and trims. My fingers were soon itching!

First step was to try on a range of hats to get an idea of style and fit which was duly noted by Vicky so that the hats forms could be prepared and allocated. Next we chose our colour- I can’t remember what the base felt piece was called but it resembled a large round topped cone which, if worn covered your complete head! These had to be wet and steamed so that they were pliable enough for us to fit and ease to the shape of the form which we then pinned underneath, fastened with a string around the crown and taken to the drying room ready for the next step. This is quite a strenuous process and you need asbestos hands to handle the hot ,wet felt.

1000627_419355014858549_1976785190_n

Meanwhile we were able to work on our choice of decoration.

When choosing the colour for our hats we chose the materials for our decoration which included roving for the felt with additional silks and the petersham for the waist and edging (if desired) for the hat.

Splitting into two groups we set about the next step. If only I had moisturised my hands better, the fleece was sticking to my hands like velcro but as the process went on and I added the water and soap this was no longer a problem. Each stage of felt making has a therapeutic quality to it as there is much massaging and rubbing to be done. I love the way you take the raw materials and change them through manipulation into a rich and beautiful fabric. There is something very honest about the whole process, almost spiritual; but also quite comedic as we looked at the expressions on each other’s faces! With wet and soapy hands I didn’t break off to take photos during this process but the end result is this…

524583_419098968217487_1781386279_n

1479068_419034924890558_1592462270_n

I chose the rich pinky/red for my base colour with some purple to tone in with the hat, then used the silk in bronze, gold and a hint of white for depth and richness. The beads were threaded onto a wire to make application easier (lazy way) and I was delighted to find the large  ‘tiger eye’ like bead for the centre and some added *bling*!

1458487_419354551525262_597915323_n

Treasure!!!

All that was left to do was to apply the petersham and add the flower. Most of us opted for the talented Louise to machine sew the petersham to the edge but managed the hand sewing needed to secure the ‘waist’ to the hat. Last job was fixing a clip to the flower with the glue gun and hey presto- what was the result- 12 women eating scones with jam and cream, sipping tea and wearing hats!!! Here are a few more pics from the day

1451547_419354628191921_1095393887_n

Some of the fabulous hand created hats by Louise at Hats From The Hall

580320_419126211548096_365483759_n

Me and my “titfer”!

1476032_419354861525231_2045427626_n (1)

Waiting in the petersham queue

1469980_419355044858546_487996852_n

I just adore the mannequins

decorative-page-break-hi

If you ever have the opportunity then I highly recommend a day out at Hats From The Hall. It was a brilliant experience and I am now the owner of one unique felt hat, made by me. Thank you to my dear friend Helen, the Trusty Gardener for the wonderful gift of the day.

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

9 thoughts on “Hats From The Hall

  1. Sounds like a wonderful day. What a lovely gift! And a great hat!
    Is this something you could replicate at home or was there a lot of equipment involved?

    • Ah well, the flower I could do at home right now but the hat part requires a block which I believe are quite costly. However, I am sorely tempted with the idea of following this up at some point! And yes it was a wonderful day and a brilliant present! Do it if you ever have the chance!

  2. wow, you are a born milliner! You could sell those like hot cakes 🙂

  3. Ahh Jill, what a unique and fun experience. Brilliant, your hat came out beautifully. Such a lovely pic of you too xxx

  4. Pingback: Review: Elegant Hat by Kim Guzman | simply Erina

Leave a Reply

