A bit of a Knock Back

10 Comments

Thinking3Sometimes things happen in life that knock your confidence. Being diagnosed with Lupus was a big blow and a reality I struggle with every day. Starting ONOODLES has been part of the healing process and if others get enjoyment from what I do then that makes me happy!

Recently I was publicly accused of copying someone’s designs. I did not knowingly do this but having seen what I was accused of copying I do understand why it was felt I had. Sometimes I have an idea, make it then find out that someone else has also had the same idea. I prefer the notion that ‘great minds think alike’. This has really knocked my confidence in pursuing my love of crafting which until now has been my salvation.

It has made me question what I am doing?

Where do I go from here?

How will I ever produce something truly original?  My claim is that my creations are fun, quirky and individual- but are they?  I know in time I will let this pass but I am still smarting from the experience.

I’m throwing this out to you because I know that there is much creativity and wisdom out there with you and I value your thoughts! I guess the question is to do with originality and how on earth we ensure it in what we claim to be our own ideas?! Should we even bother? Surely all our ideas are an amalgamation of  images, ideas, thoughts and designs we see and store; these then inform what we create? Some degree of replication is bound to occur.

Discuss!!!

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

10 thoughts on “A bit of a Knock Back

  1. Jill, don’t let this knock your confidence. What you are doing is fab and we are all influenced by many things. The clever part is making that thought a reality which is something you do every day. Original is what you are …. xxxxx

  2. There cannot be many of us that can say they are absolutely not influenced by what they have seen along the way even if only on a sub conscious level. Surely one idea leads to another, leading to another. And you are not gaining financially which can be a reason why another might have more cause to be upset even if unfounded.
    Please don’t be put off recording and sharing your makes. We all thoroughly enjoy your musings.
    Focus on us, the majority. Don’t dwell on the bad stuff but please share with us any further negativity so we can build you back up again. xx

  3. I am constantly finding similar patterns by different people. Maybe I focus on the small differences but it does show that ‘great minds think alike’. There are only so many ways to do some things. Creativity comes from within, enjoy your own creativity and if someone accuses you of copying wrongly that’s their problem.

  4. I agree completely with Jane (Rainbow Junkie). At the same time, I am as mad as a snake with whoever “publicly accused” you of copying their designs. Firstly, he or she should have raised it privately. Secondly, if you are not buying/copying someone else’s pattern and selling it as your own pattern, then you are doing nothing wrong. Even if you did buy or use someone else’s pattern to make an item which YOU THEN SOLD, that is not illegal either. You are allowed to make and sell 10 billion items from someone else’s pattern, whether you acknowledge that the pattern came from that other person or not. I think most people do give credit to someone else’s pattern, but that is a courtesy (which I know you would never omit anyway). The person who wrote the pattern (and who either sold it or made it available for free) does not have the right to control who does what with the pattern once it’s been made available.
    Jill, I am begging you please please please do not allow this incident to knock you back. You are one of the most genuinely creative people I know of on the internet (and I know a lot, so you’re pretty damn good in my book!). There are so many people out there crocheting/sewing/ knitting away that it would in fact be a flippin’ miracle if no two people ever came up with a very similar way of doing things.
    Now I am sending you strong and positive thoughts. And I’m still flaming mad.
    xxxxxxx

    • oooh oooh oooh I am still mad too. The item in question certainly does bear a resemblance to the other persons but it was not a pattern and I did not see it until AFTER I was accused when I asked what was the problem! Any pattern I have used and blogged about or shared I have (as far as I know) referenced the source. In this case what I made came from me and just happens to resemble what someone else has done (it was a specific aspect that the person was upset about) But to appease myself I googled the item in some detail and it brought up many similar items… but not the one I am supposed to have copied! Grrrrrr! I have to say Jill, you have hit the nail on the head, the bit that bothers me most is that she challenged me publicly and did not PM me. Never mind that what she has done questions my integrity but that’s the bit that is easier to bear since she does not know me so it is in fact ridiculous. Today I am bruuuuuised but tomorrow I will bounce back! Thank you for the positive vibes, I need them. xxx

      • Here are some more, although you are clearly well on the way to getting over this twit’s comments. ( Of course, you realise I can’t write down the words I’m really thinking!?…) 🙂

      • Thank you, I have busied myself with a stock take to remind myself what ONOODLES is really about.It is the support of the friends old and new that have helped me through some pretty rubbish times (stronger language here but I am showing restraint) and I am grateful to every single one of you. You are the ones who count! 😉

Leave a Reply

