Stockholm Snood

6 Comments

The Stockholm Snood was born because Joe asked for a snood for Christmas and was quite specific about colour, size and stitch style; that comes from being a designer! Anyway, this was the result! Apologies for the ‘moody’ face only he refused to model for me  and it’s my face! I can’t help it!!!

I am not a pattern writer but I think this is quite straight forward and can’t see any problems! Do let me know if you do! And if you happen to like it enough to make it then I would love to see the results!

1522176_440153742778676_431580604_n

Materials

I used 260g of King Cole Moorland Aran, shade 374 which is a denim blue with a grey and cream  slub

From a 400g ball this represents 510m, the yarn is 75% acrylic/ 25% wool

5mm circular needle

Really you could use any yarn and gauge but would need to calculate your tension/sizing. The snood has a circumference of 75cm and I worked a length of 75cm (not including ribbed edge)

Pattern

The pattern is worked in the round firstly making a tube in waffle stitch and finishing the top with the rib, after which you pick up and complete the rib at the bottom. This means that there really is no top/bottom and the garment can be worn single or double, as a snood or a cowl and was designed for a Swedish winter!

Waffle stitch

Worked over 4 stitches in the round

R1 and 2           (K1, P2 ) repeat to end

R3 and 4         Knit

 29578_440153752778675_323444129_n

To Make

Cast on 128 sts (I prefer long tail method), use marker to denote beginning/end of each round

Work in waffle stitch until of desired length- I did about 75cm ending with R4

Work one round purl

*Now work in K2,P2 rib for 5 rounds

Next round, (K2, P2together) repeat all round

Now work K2, P1 rib for 5 rounds

Bind off and sew in end so that invisible

To complete, turn work upside down, pick up and knit 128 sts then work one row purl

Now complete rib from * to match other end.

1546022_440153732778677_1710683727_n

That’s it! Easy peasy!

https://onoodlesstitchcraft.wordpress.com

 © Jill O’Neill, January 2014

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

6 thoughts on “Stockholm Snood

  1. Really nice. Very masculine.

  2. This is beautiful, would suit any man. Or woman, for that matter!

  3. Its gorgeous, very manly – love you pic by the way!

Leave a Reply

