Miette

7 Comments

Cardigan finished.

1545114_441460442648006_833729209_n

First go at an in the round and top down pattern. Yes I followed it to the letter, just lengthening the body and sleeves as the pattern indicated. Yarn bought for £3 at a charity shop, buttons cost about the same!  WHAT A BARGAIN!

The pattern I used is this- Miette by Andi Sutterland- click pic to go to blog; The pattern is awesome and FREE! HIghly recommended.

miette62

 

If you google Miette you will see what a popular pattern this is, and deservedly so. Very easy to follow, accurate and a joy to knit. I love it! As the weather warms in spring I will be teaming it with my vintage dress in pineapple print. The perfect partner. Now there’s something to look forward to!

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

7 thoughts on “Miette

  1. Looks great. A great job! And extremely thrifty !

    • also I am told accentuates the bust! BOOBILISCIOUS BABE!

      • I am tempted to try and make one. Like the circular needles no seams as well. However the yarn in the pattern is not available in UK and the default needles advised for it seem to be 4.5mm. Did you use the 5mm needles in the pattern and was the knitting on the loose side or is the yarn quite thick? Thanks.

      • My yarn was just a big 400g of wool mix aran weight – I think the one used in the pattern is a cotton mix? Anyway I am not very good at sticking to the yarn that is suggested, I tend to go ‘off piste’! I did use the 5mm for the main knitting with 4.5mm for the ribs. I did a tension square to check the measurements and as it was for me tried on as I went along. This seemed to work. The lack of seams make it super comfy and help with the fit. Good luck, I am sure with your skill it will be an easy knit.

      • Thanks for that! I was beginning to think an ‘aran’ weight would be the best match. Have seen a few that aren’t too expensive.

Leave a Reply

