A Pair of Afghans

8 Comments

Been a busy bee during January  and want to share my other recently completed projects: two small afghans.

The first I had promised as a birthday present last August…then changed it to being a Christmas present and now it has become a house warming present! I don’t usually take so long but this was a very creative project and required some serious CONCENTRATION which I frequently lack! This throw is based on the vibrant work of the artist Hundertwasser and if you haven’t heard of him then I urge you to go and take a look- he was quite an inspiration in terms of the images he created, his approach to ecological issues and the relationship of humans with our environment. Here is a link to find out more-

hundertwasser-2

Now some pics to show the development of the throw and the completed item!

My second afghan was produced as response to the Crochet Crowd challenge for a ‘Happy Hearts Afghan’ and like my Hundertwasser one was made using my yarn stash. I wanted to use up some yarn and make something a little more subtle and muted than I usually do! Here are a few shots of it- I wonder which of the two blankets you like best?

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

8 thoughts on “A Pair of Afghans

  1. They are both lovely but I prefer the first one, if I have to choose. So clever to use a painting as inspiration.

  2. you are a crochet gold medallist.

  3. I thought the first one looked familiar, not that I would have known who the artist was or anything. A wonderful interpretation.

  4. Jill, both your throws are incredible and such amazing work. I too LOVE the first one a tiny bit more because of what it was inspired by. The colours are so bold and it certainly makes a statement! Well done xxx

Leave a Reply

