Blanket trio and one little bag!

12 Comments

Oh gosh, I haven’t blogged for a while because I have been super busy working up to unleashing a new store of ONOODLES creations on the world. Have had a lovely little photo book printed to show off the full range of ONOODLES quirkiness, new business cards are in the post with the Rudii rabbit logo designed by Joe. Properly sorted with HMRC re. self-employment and booking fairs for summer through to Christmas (assuming my health stays stable!)

1948109_474686399325410_1414838054_n

10011257_474686432658740_1234774476_n

Had a bit of a thing for blanket making of late- they are so easy to sit with and don’t seem to stretch my compromised concentration levels!  So here are a few pictures to give you a taster.

First of all is the sugary sweet pink one comprising a vintage design motif and many shades of PINK! I think I will call this one…. er… something to do with pink…’pinken rose’- thanks online thesaurus! Suitably sweet!

SAM_3429

SAM_3431

Next comes a ‘sherbert lemon’ granny square blanket. Perfect to throw over a buggy, on the floor for a kick around or would look divine (simply divine dahlink…) on a traditional moses basket. The yarn came from one of the local charity shops and has a bit of a bobbly texture- this and the lemon colour really reminds me of sherbert lemon sweets- the ones that are boiled on the outside with powdery sherbert on the inside. here we go-

SAM_3435

SAM_3434

SAM_3437

SAM_3439

Last in the trio of blankets is an altogether more robust character, Unlike the others that were 100% best (?)  acrylic doble knit, this one is made of Aran weight and many different yarns all with some real wool content. This along with the more rustic colour combination definitely brings thoughts of log cabins, warm fires, snuggling on a settee, hunky caber tossing Scotsmen in kilts…oh better stop, I’m getting carried away. But with that in mind, I will call this one Highland Fling- take a look and see what you think.

SAM_3441

SAM_3445

SAM_3447

SAM_3448

A nod here to Attic 24 who reminded me that granny stitch does not have to be square all the time!

Next is a little barrel bag. I just couldn’t resist this when I saw the pattern that someone had signposted on facebook around Valentine’s Day. Click on the heart to go to the pattern.

hbphoto

Then take a look at what I made. As usual I added my own twist with a vintage button and lining.

SAM_3424

SAM_3426

Buckets of love…

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

12 thoughts on “Blanket trio and one little bag!

  1. A photo book is such a great idea! Where did you get it done?

  2. Your book is so professional looking. a great idea. Good luck with your fairs!

  3. WOWOWOWOW on so many levels! Where do I start? Your book is fantastic, looks so pro! I love love LOVE all your makes, thank you for sharing them with us – best of luck with the fairs, no doubt you’ll be sold out by Christmas!

  4. Thanks for the positivity and enthusiasm! It’s what keeps me going!

  5. Book looks fantastic. You make such lovely things.

  6. Wow but you churned out a few really yummy items for the challenge this month! I was contemplating granny stripes too and in fact wished I started my latest in stripes as my colours (I bought Tweed) are similar and I love yours!

Leave a Reply

