The Black Rat of Doom!

7 Comments

Well hello there. I have been absent from my blog for many reasons- mainly because I have been busy and enjoying myself. I’ve made alot and done alot and don’t quite know where to start?

A couple of weeks ago ONOODLES made her first public outing for a long time. The Fabulous Finds fair was well organised, a lovely hall and great facilities but really poor footfall… Still, all was not lost as I had the company of the lovely Eggy B, (sorry Jen!) and we met Connie of Funkie Doodles Arts and Crafts. We  chatted and laughed and laughed some more and even had a dance along to the entertainment (we had to provide some light relief from the lack of  custom).  I have to say, if you need a singer you can’t go far wrong with Pete Wayre- he serenaded us with some fabulous old swing numbers, Farnk Sinatra, Dean Martin (old crooners) to Cliff Richard and songs from the shows.

At home  exhausted as I was, and mellow from a large glass of wine, I reflected on the day and my life just now… it goes without saying that I wish I didn’t have Lupus but boy oh boy has it made me appreciate  what I have. So having tearfully told husband that he and the boys are the most precious things things in my life, I waxed on about how lucky I am to have such wonderful friends and family.

Over Easter we visited Son no.1 in Stockholm and had a wonderful stay, visiting some new and revisiting some old places. The Vasamuseet was one highlight for me; the amazing tale of a w arship from 1628 (I think!) that didn’t even make it out of the harbor before it sank on it’s maiden voyage! I lay there until 1961 when it was removed from the water almost 90% preserved. The museum is built around the recreated ship. Apparently it survived as it was not in saltwater. The worms that destroy timber do not live in fresh water. The ship builders were aware of the design problems that the ship had- requested by the King and designed by a Dutchman, so the intention was to sail the ship round the corner into the Naval base to make the vessel seaworthy. It never got there! And everyone blamed the Dutchman since he was dead by then so no living person took the blame!

 

I took photographs but light levels are low in the museum.

Anyway if you click on the pic it will take you to the website for a better view.

SAM_3624

 

I was amused by some of the items for sale in the  shop…the black rat of DOOM!

SAM_3641

 

Heres a little slideshow of some of our other Swedish experiences which include-

  • a giant pizza
  • lots of food
  • sunny days
  • boat trips
  • family time
  • trolls!
  • trams
  • the grave of  Olof Palme
  • This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Since our visit Son no.2 has been out to visit his brother as well! Just wish we had all been out there together.

 

cropped-purple-large.png

 

 

So what has ONOODLES been upto. Did the one fair as mentioned and am booked to do 2 school fetes. That’s enough for the summer if I am to remain in control of my health.  Another set of photos to let you see some of the things that have been coming off the needles recently…

Still lots more to update you on having been quiet for so long but that will wait for another day.

Be back soon,

Jill x

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

7 thoughts on “The Black Rat of Doom!

  1. I saw the Vasa about forty years ago. I don’t hink they had as much of it to show then. I remember it being very dark and just part of a ship. Looks like you have been very busy crafting -very jolly rabbits!

    • Thanks! I expect they were still in the process of putting it back together at that stage. I was amazed that they still have some of the sails preserved and one sealed box revealed a perfect fely hat! It’s amazing.

  2. great pics, I particularly like the ones that focus on food. 🙂
    I love everything you make, you’re one of the most creative people I know!!!
    I hope you have a good spring/summer, over here it’s gone a bit topsy turvy and we’re flipping freezing. They predicted snow on Table Mountain today – I’d step outside my front door and have a squizz but every now and then we get a huge downfall of rain…. 😦

    • The weather here is somewhat contrary also. You know what it’s like in the UK- sleet snow and sun all in the same day! It’s a bit wet atm but forecasting a hot summer. Everywhere look very lush. I saw the snow threat for you on the news. I have tons and tons more pics (I get snap happy) but can’t post them all. Everything revolves around food. The best was at a fabulous veggie buffet called Hermans overlooking the archipelago but the pictures are not very good! Joe was hung over and Chris and I were not hungry as we had pigged out on our Swedish breakfast buffet! Yum!

  3. Lovely photos and you’ve been soooo busy. I love your owls and your bunnies!
    I’ve experienced many craft fairs of poor footfall and have found that many of the fairs are struggling to fill their tables this years due to poor sales last year. Hopefully it’ll all turn about eventually. Glad to have you back.

  4. Good to be back Lucie. I have been a poor blogger, not posting or reading much either! Re. craft fairs- I’m not in it to make a mint, it’s all about the experience and I am certainly having fun. The next two are school fetes so I am about to make lots of pocket money bits and bobs- not sure what yet but I will be posting when I do!

Leave a Reply

