Summer Market Place

8 Comments

10457878_517608771699839_8964326323493029948_n
Just a quick post to show and tell about ONOODLES activities in the British summer market place.

I made a decision this year, based on last years experiences and balanced with my health that I would do a limited number of fairs in the summer and again in the autumn/winter (run up to Christmas) using the time in between to work at a manageable pace on seasonal stock with the odd commission inbetween!

Three out of four fairs done and I am happy that I have made a good and sensible decision (doesn’t do to be sensible all the time but where my health is concerned most of the time is advisable!) What I have enjoyed most are the two School summer fetes I have attended. Both were organised in the best of traditions with very active Parent Teacher Associations so fantastic family fun days were put on with pony rides, musical interludes, displays of karate, recorder groups, candy floss, car boot sales etc etc!

I thoroughly enjoyed selling to excited children and their parents seeing many little mice and ladybirds and owls flying and scurrying off to new homes. Pre-adolescent girls bought the wristbands and bracelets and excitedly modelled their purchases for me! I am all for coordinating  ‘jewellery’ with  nail varnish!

10407503_519414158185967_6648429503658905400_n

One lovely older brother bought his younger sister a big owl- just because and several younger boys came back to buy hair bobbles for their little sisters!

10451850_522940041166712_6710894887044236683_n

As well as these knick knacks I was pleased that some larger items were bought- a couple of blankets went home with expectant mothers. The lemon sherbert cot blanket sold and the happy hearts afghan.

 

009

SAM_3437

10352145_522829877844395_7400987934832557974_n

 

The flower brooches took a hit- so  much so that I really need to make more now!

10437494_512031068924276_32089018958548443_n

 

So I finally feel that I have found my groove and know my market. By doing this I am able to spend time making for friends, family and myself and indulge my creativity without compromising my health.

I have struck a deal to do  a skill exchange with my friend the hairdresser  and recently a bag of ducks winged their way over to Stockholm and then onto Porto (Tom went to visit Joe and then Joe went on holiday to Porto) where the ducks were to be a gift and in payment I am receiving a big bag of buttons from Porto being couriered back via Stockholm to England by Joe who is home for a holiday in less than two weeks (yes I am very excited at the prospect of having both my boys home for a while very soon…not to mention a bag of buttons!)

Here are a few more shots of the stall and the developing display. One or two other odd shots for good measure!

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

8 thoughts on “Summer Market Place

  1. You have been busy! It would take me years to make all that. Glad the summer fetes were successful.

  2. Thanks, and fun, no point if it’s not fun! 😉

  3. Your stall is extremely well stocked with a great variety of items, I’m mightily impressed 🙂 I can see why your flowers took a knock, they’re really gorgeous. Am glad you’ve found a good balance. Secret of a happy life, I would guess. ❤

  4. Thanks Jill. Bloody hard work I say! But I think I’ve found that balance now. Just one more fair for the summer at a pub fun day which is a new ventur but we shall see. At least there will be access to a nice glass or two of vino!!!

  5. Well done on finding your market. I never found mine!!!!
    I simply adore your bunting. Fabulous. In fact your whole stall looks really lovely. Just the right amount and mix of merchandise.

  6. Ah thanks Lucie, this way I get to carry on doing what I love without feeling a failure! It all started as therapy afterall so would be a shame for it to stop being the boost I need! Thank you for the wonderful compliments about the stall, I’m never quite sure- too much or too little, just want the work to speak for itself so that people will take an interest. Selling is a bonus!

  7. Very nice! I can see how much your stall has evolved since I saw it the first time. Looking great!

Leave a Reply

