From a pier to a shawl…

12 Comments

With all the hype about the World Cup, BT have brought out a new range of television adverts  promoting their sport channel and broadband packages. One of them features a Welsh footballer Gareth Bale who is seen honing his skills on a beautiful pier that has recently been given a facelift. I instantly recognised the pier and had to look it up on the net (yes infact I googled it) and here it is if you are interested in either football,  Gareth Bale or the scenery…(click the pic)
Penarth_Pier_-_detail_of_railings

 

The day we visited it was very cold and windy and the pavillion covered in scaffolding but I was still enchanted by the railings

I had recently acquired some gorgeous 100% mulberry silk yarn from Babylonglegs  (go and drool over her lovely yarns and luscious colours- treat yourself why don’t you?!) and had talked about how it needed to be made into something that would show off the colour and drape.  Having not worked with fine silk thread before I searched for a simle pattern for the main part of the shawl. You can read my original post here https://onoodlesstitchcraft.wordpress.com/2013/03/13/crochet-lace-shawl/

Here are a few pictures to remind you of the finished item and now you can really see the link. There is also a picture of the Penarth Shawlette which was a commission made in a fine merino and I adapted the pattern but still the same basic design.

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

12 thoughts on “From a pier to a shawl…

  1. Pretty railings! I like the way you’ve used it to inspire the edge of your shawl. Adds a lovely finish to the shawl.

  2. They are lovely aren’t they?!

  3. it’s a work of art 🙂 I hope you wear it often.

  4. I love how objects from real life can inspire craft. Lovely shawl.

  5. This shawl inspired me to cast on something that I’m designing on the fly 🙂

    • WOW! You must let me know when it is done! I have never knowingly inspired anyone before. I know it will be lovely as your work always is. This shawl is probably the thing I am most proud of making. Thanks Lolly, I am honoured x

  6. I love your Mulberry shawl. There are so many things I want to do after my wedding and this has just been added to my list!!!. Not that i’m wishing it away! Just 3 days to go!

    • Oh wow, have a wonderful wedding Lucie. If you do make one then I would recommend Sarah’s yarn from Babylonglegs- not cheap but well worth every penny and she will dye it to order. Have a wonderful wedding! x (Oh I said it twice! I mean it!)

  7. That’s amazing, you are so clever!! Beautiful x

Leave a Reply

