Butternut Squash and Carrot Soup

4 Comments

So I’ve not blogged for ages and have decided to share something completely different with  you. It’s not that I haven’t been crafting lately it’s just that having been able to get back into the kitchen I am once again enjoying making delicious homemade food.

I recently bought a carton of Covent Garden Butternut Squash and carrot soup and thoroughly enjoyed it but decided I could replicate the flavours at a fraction of the cost. I took note of the ingredients and this is what I did.

20150227_084009

I sauteed 2 cloves   of garlic in a pan along with a quarter teaspoon each of paprika, chili powder, 2 bay leaves and 1/2 teaspoon of cumin seeds in about one tablespoon of rapeseed oil (you could use olive or sunflower). Just took enough time to coat  and soften the garlic.

I then added…     three chopped carrots, one chopped butternut squash, one large chopped potato, two chopped onions, a couple of chopped sticks of celery and continued to sautee for a few minutes until  beginning to soften and coated  with the spices… the smell at this point is gorgeous!

 

TOP TIP

At this point I want to share a picture of my spice collection, brilliantly displayed in alphabetical order but with the added interest of mixed size and shape jars. I love it.

20150227_090504

 

I have just realised that this actually only shows 3 of the 4 shelves but you get the idea. Having some order here makes selection much easier! Trust me, it beats rummaging around a basket or drawer any day of the week.

Back to the cooking.

Add 2 pints (or thereabouts) of stock- I used a vegetable stock cube but chicken would also work.

Cover and simmer for 30 minutes

Cool then blitz. Add more liquid if required at this point. Also you may want to adjust your seasoning here by adding salt and pepper- I prefer to leave this to individual taste.

Serve and enjoy

2015 - 1

I ate mine with a mediterranean loaf, cheese and chutney- YUM!

Author: onoodlesstitchcraft

An erstwhile teacher who has taken a new path due to illness and returned to an earlier existence exploring her artistic and creative skills of stitchcraft. My oldest son laughs and says I am as mad as a spoon, qualifying the comment that I am not like other middle aged mothers... well hurrah for that! So what do I do? I love to cook, I am never without a craft project or a few on the go, I love my garden, walking, nature and the environment. I am a magpie for vintage patterns and love colour. I get pleasure from creating and giving to friends. I have a rabbit! I ride a bike and recycle... Drink too much tea and like nothing better than to lunch with friends. Snuggling up on cold winter nights is essential. I like the theatre; musicals and dance in particular. Amongst my favourite films are Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Singing in the Rain and Fried Green Tomatoes. I love to read anything from Crime thrillers to classics (love Wuthering Heights) or biographies about inspirational people. I hate sexism or racism and disingenuous people. I value friendship and above all else my family.

4 thoughts on “Butternut Squash and Carrot Soup

  1. That’s a nice rack… of spices 😀

  2. Looks so yummy!

Leave a Reply

